top of page
Search
  • hannaharw0112

Marchuwhump Day 9~

Do you like to dance?

I hope this gives you inspiration to push yourself 😉

---

I slowly tied my ballet shoes, feeling the soft silk in every touch. I stretched before starting of with a leap.

This was my time to feel free, and feel the music within myself. My soul was happy. I felt free. I’ve felt captive for the longest time ever with COVID.

Leap after leap, pirouette after pirouette, I danced my heart out to the fullest. This was my go-to piece.

“I’m afraid that your daughter… can’t dance. For a good year or two,” The doctor broke the news five years ago.

Now, fully recovered, I danced my heart out. Each step I took contently. Then, in my head, I heard a crack.

“My ankle!” I shrieked. I landed on my foot, hard, trying to master the Fouette.

“Harper!’ Madame Lily rushed to my side. Strict, cold, and firm Madame Lily had feelings. “Call an ambulance… and her parents!” Madame Lily shouted.

Pain rushed up and down my ankle as tears streamed down my face. I tore off my point shoes and grabbed for my ankle, hugging it close to my chest.

“Harper!” My mother screamed and ran to me. She picked me up and cradled me like a baby, whispering, “It’s all going to be alright baby, just fine.”

“Darling!” My dad dashed towards me. “Sh, shh, sleep, my darling, have a rest…”

I slowly nodded off to sleep, forgetting about the pain.

I paused from my dancing and fell to the ground. I pushed myself to the fullest. I wanted to be the best. I wanted to live the best. Now? Do I still want to be a ballerina?

I heard clapping sounds from the door and saw Madame Lily strolling in.

“Harper, nice to see you again. I see you’re trying to dance again, oui?’ she asked.

I nodded. “I remember wanting to be the best, being able to dance any move there ever was in history.”

Madame Lily nodded in agreement. “You pushed yourself harder than any other student I have. I never told you this but, you were my star student since a long time. You see, before you picked up dancing, there was a girl called Aria Johnson. She wanted to be the best but she didn’t push herself to her limits. She’d practice for two hours then leave. She didn’t prioritize ballet over her social life, but you, you pushed yourself to your limits. You were here in this very room practicing for hours on end, Hour after hour, after hour, you’d try and master one move. After that? You practiced another move. I admire that about you, you know that?”

I stared at Madame Lily who has never said a compliment about anything I did. Just a simple, “Well done,” and she’d move on. I recall her yelling at me about all the things I did wrong. I’d go home, tired and sleep for five hours then early at five am, I’d go to the studio to dance for another three hours before school. During lunch, I’ll take five bites and move on to the gym where there is a full audience before me.

“N- no. I- I didn’t,” I stammered.

Madame Lily let out a soft giggle.

“Did you know, that once, I was a girl like you?” Madame Lily asked.

I shook my head in response.

“Come sit,” Madame Lily patted the seat next to her. I rushed over to sit next to her, intrigued.

“When I was a child, I always wanted to be a ballerina. When I started, I danced tirelessly on end. Day after day after day, just like you. But it was only when I was twenty years old, that I realized I didn’t have the potential. But you, I see it in you. The spirit, the potential. It’s your decision if you want to continue and get back on your feet again,” Madame Lily winked.

I thought for a moment then smiled. “Shall we train?’

“That’s the spirit! Come on, on your feet. I’ll play the music. One two three, one two three….”

---

The End!

---

Ummm

Don't blame me

I don't know ballet and the terms =.=

Eh

BYE BYE!

-dashes out of the room leaving behind brownies-

P.S: SEE YOU TOMORROWWWWWW

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Marchuwhump Day 15

Today's prompt is "Magic is Real"! --- “Mommy,” Leah began, “is magic real?” Leah’s brother, Jonathan, just laughed. “Magic isn’t real, Leah.” Her mom and dad, Camila and Dan, gave Jonathan a stern lo

Marchuwhump Day 14

I stepped out of the house and a gush of wind nearly ran me over. With the wind in my hair and snacks, pillows, and blankets in my arms, I walked down the steps of the porch and towards my treehouse.

Marchuwhump Day 13

“Mommy! Mommy! Tell us a stowy!” Five-year-old Conner cried. “Yes, mom, tell us a story about your childhood!” Nine-year-old Brooklyn added. I looked at my two children and smiled. “Alright. It all st

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page