top of page
Search
  • hannaharw0112

Marchuwhump Day 5~

Day 5.

YAY!

Again, comment any suggestions or ANYTHING!

---

Note: Oh and, it a bit sad... Sry for making y'all sad...

---

Prompt: Cancer


“Honey, we don’t have the money for you to buy just anything,” mom said weakly.

“But mom! I want to fit in!” I whined.

“I’m sorry, but the bills are enough. You buying Chanel and Gucci bags aren’t going to help,” mom said gently.

“Argh! This family can’t do anything for me. ANYTHING!” I said angrily. I grabbed my backpack and left the room, slamming the door shut.

The next day I ended up waking up at 7am because of my phone ringing.

“Hello? Is this Camila McGills?” A voice asked.

“Yes,” I yawned.

“Your mother- she- I’m afraid that she didn’t make it through the night because of her cancer,” the voice on the other side said quietly.

“Mo- no! No!” I immediately hung up and sat down in a corner, still in shock.

Tears streamed down my face. I shut my eyes until I saw colors and breathed. I was alone at home. My grandparents were a good half-hour away. My best friend lived just next door. I packed a bag, locked up the door and knocked. Evelyn’s mom opened the door five minutes later.

“What are you doing her-” She looked at my face and softened up. “Camila! Come in, have a seat. I’ll make you breakfast,” she said quickly.

“Thank you, Mrs. Valdez,” I mumbled. I stepped into their very neat and tidy house and sat down on the dining chair.

“Here is some tea, Camila, tell me what happened,” Mrs. Valdez said kindly.

“My- my mom passed away last night,” I croaked.

Mrs. Valdez gave me a hug, and I could see tears welling up in her eyes.

“Oh Camila! I am so sorry for you, stay here with us for as long as you’d like,” Mrs. Valdez whispered.

“Mom? What’s Camila doing here?” Evelyn wondered.

“Shh, Mrs. McGills passed away,” Mrs. Valdez cried.

“Camila! Oh, sorry for your loss,” Evelyn gave me a bear hug.

I gave her a wea smiled and said, “Thanks.”


Inside, I was empty. I never got to say good bye. Never got to say sorry.

---

The End

---

Sry, again. PLEASE DON'T ATTACK MEEEE!

-dashes-

-leaves behind Kit-Kats and Brownies-

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Marchuwhump Day 15

Today's prompt is "Magic is Real"! --- “Mommy,” Leah began, “is magic real?” Leah’s brother, Jonathan, just laughed. “Magic isn’t real, Leah.” Her mom and dad, Camila and Dan, gave Jonathan a stern lo

Marchuwhump Day 14

I stepped out of the house and a gush of wind nearly ran me over. With the wind in my hair and snacks, pillows, and blankets in my arms, I walked down the steps of the porch and towards my treehouse.

Marchuwhump Day 13

“Mommy! Mommy! Tell us a stowy!” Five-year-old Conner cried. “Yes, mom, tell us a story about your childhood!” Nine-year-old Brooklyn added. I looked at my two children and smiled. “Alright. It all st

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page